Talia Shabtay exhibition praised in Chicago Tribune

Current graduate student and Block Museum fellow, Talia Shabtay, receives praise from Chicago Tribune on the exhibition she curated, "Mining Pictures: Stories from Above and Below Ground."  See article here.

Associate Professor Huey Copeland is one of five finalists for the 2017 Absolut Art Writing Award

The award offers an author the opportunity to realize a dream project. Previously awarded to Coco Fusco (2013) and Mark Godfrey (2015), this biennial prize is intended to support new writing by the world's most creative talent.

Professor Huey Copeland

Statement on Department’s Commitment to Openness and Inclusion

The Department of Art History is committed to openness and inclusion. The recent US Presidential election has only sharpened these convictions. Our research and teaching commitments are varied: faculty and students in our department study artistic practices around the globe, issues of race and ethnicity, cross-cultural exchange, gender, and histories of oppressed people’s visual expression. Our devotion to intellectual inquiry compels us to take a stand against acts of intimidation and expressions of hate, whether they use the rhetoric of xenophobia, racism, homophobia, transphobia, ableism, misogyny, or some combination thereof. We affirm our commitment to Northwestern’s and our own department’s diverse intellectual community and to the safety of our students, faculty, and staff. We affirm solidarity with Muslims, the undocumented, and other minority and historically oppressed groups, and ask to be held accountable to those most affected by recent political events.

Department Returns to Newly Renovated Kresge Hall

On December 19th, the Department of Art History will move back to the newly renovated Kresge Hall with fellow departments Classics, Art Theory and Practice, Asian Languages and Cultures, Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities, and more. Our new address is 1880 Campus Drive, Kresge 4305, Evanston, IL 60208.

Thompson Wins Caribbean Studies Association Book Award

Krista Thompson, Weinberg College Board of Advisors Chair, has been awarded the Gordon K. and Sybil Lewis Prize by the Caribbean Studies Association for Shine: The Visual Economy of Light in African Diasporic Aesthetic Practice. The award recognizes the "best book about the Caribbean published over the previous three-year period in Spanish, English, French, or Dutch." Congratulations!

Alumni Win 2016 Johnson Award

Alison Fisher (Ph.D., 2014) and Greg Foster Rice (Ph.D., 2003) received the Society of Art Historian's 2016 Philip Johnson Award for The City Lost & Found: Capturing New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles, 1960-1980. The award is given annually to an outstanding exhibition catalogue by the leading scholarly society devoted to the study of architecture and the built environment.

Martha Tedeschi Appointed Director of Harvard Art Museums

Congratulations to Martha Tedeschi (Ph.D., 1994), who has been named Elizabeth and John Moors Cabot Director of the Harvard Art Museums. As Deputy Director for Art and Research at the Art Institute of Chicago since 2012, Tedeschi oversees the museum’s eleven curatorial departments, and facilitates numerous programs including the Andrew W. Mellon Chicago Objects Study Initiative that directly benefits department graduate students. She will assume her new position and title in July 2016.